Skip to main content

Bridgend Boundary Change – Joint Transition Board (JTB)

On the 14 June 2018, the Cabinet Secretary for Health and Social Services, Vaughan Gething AM, announced that from 1 April 2019 the responsibility for providing healthcare services for people in the Bridgend County Borough Council area will move from Abertawe Bro Morgannwg University Health Board (ABMUHB) to Cwm Taf University Health Board (CTUHB).

As agreed by both Health Boards, a Joint Transition Board (JTB) has been established as a committee of each Health Board (HB) to oversee the implementation of the boundary change. Both HBs have jointly agreed a scheme of delegation which sets out the decisions that can be taken by the JTB.

The individual Boards have also agreed terms of reference for the JTB and that the membership should include the Chairs and Chief Executives of each Health Board, an Independent member from each HB, Executive Directors and key officers as required. Colleagues from Bridgend County Borough Council (CBC) are also represented on the group, and a representative from the Wales Audit Office (WAO) is also in attendance in an observer capacity.

The JTB meets on a monthly basis and is supported by the Joint Transition Programme Group (JTPG) to oversee and receive reports from the established work streams.