'UNCONFIRMED' MINUTES OF THE 'IN COMMITTEE' MEETING OF THE CWM TAF MORGANNWG UNIVERSITY HEALTH BOARD (CTMUHB), HELD ON THURSDAY 28 NOVEMBER 2019, AT YNYSMEURIG HOUSE, ABERCYNON

PRESENT:

Marcus Longley Chair

Sharon Hopkins Chief Executive (Interim)

Maria Thomas Vice Chair

Mel Jehu Independent Member (in part)

James Hehir Independent Member
Paul Griffiths Independent Member
Nicola Milligan Independent Member
Dilys Jouvenat Independent Member

Jayne Sadgrove Independent Member (in part)

Ian Wells Independent Member

Alan Lawrie Director of Primary, Community & Mental

Health Services

Kelechi Nnoaham Director of Public Health

Steve Webster Director of Finance & Procurement
Liz Wilkinson Director of Therapies & Health Sciences

Nick Lyons Medical Director

Ruth Treharne Director of Planning and Performance

IN ATTENDANCE:

John Palmer Chief Operating Officer

Georgina Galletly Director of Corporate Governance /Board

Deb Matthews Secretary (interim)

Kevin Gallager Head of Nursing, Anaesthetics, Critical Care &

Alix Hayman Theatres (in part)

Consultant Ophthalmologist (in part)

Directorate Support Manager, Anaesthetics,

Kath McGrath Critical Care & Theatres and Head & Neck

Services (in part)

Donna Seldon Deputy Chief Operating Officer / Lead for

Shaki Mustafa Follow-Up Not Booked (FUNB) (in part)

Senior Nurse, Surgery(in part)

Neil Cooper Consultant Oral & Maxillofacial Surgeon (in part)

John Murray Directorate Manager, ICT & Neck (in part)

Director, Deloitte (Observing)

Wendy Penrhyn-Jones Head of Corporate Administration (Secretariat)

UHB/B/19/167 WELCOME AND INTRODUCTIONS

The Chair **welcomed** everyone to the meeting.

UHB/B/19/168 APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

Apologies were **RECEIVED** from Kieron Montague, Independent Member; Ph White, Independent Member; Anne Phillimore, Director of Workforce & Organisational Development (Interim); David Jenkins, Independent Support CTMUHB Chair.

UHB/B/19/169 DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

There were none.

UHB/B/19/170 FOLLOW-UP OUTPATIENTS NOT BOOKED (FUNB)

The Chair welcomed colleagues who had been invited to join the meeting to contribute to the presentation of the above update.

A report and detailed presentation was **RECEIVED** setting out the current findings of the programme of work being undertaken in relation to the FUNB position and the actions in place or planned to address this across all specialties.

Members **NOTED** the issue had been subject to significant all-Wales work and the potential for any adverse clinical outcomes arising from FUNB for Cwm Taf locality patients had recently been discussed at the Quality & Safety Committee. A harm review was **NOTED** to be underway, the outcomes from which would be managed accordingly. In terms of future service sustainably, Members **NOTED** that monitoring was being put into place along with work to develop an integrated CTM patient outcomes dashboard.

Members **NOTED** that it would be necessary to recruit an additional Consultant Ophthalmologist to avoid further outsourcing in the new financial year and that lessons learned from the review were being shared with other Health Boards.

M Longley thanked all those involved in work around this important issue. John Palmer echoed his thanks to colleagues.

RESOLVED - the report be **NOTED**.

UHB/B/19/171 WELSH HEALTH SPECIALISED SERVICES COMMITTEE (WHSSC)

Minutes from the in-committee WHSSC meeting held on 30 August 2019 and a briefing arising from the meeting held on 12 November 2019 were **RECEIVED** and **NOTED.**

UHB/B/19/172 UPDATE ON INDEPENDENT REPORT INTO THE HANDLING OF THE SECONDEE CONSULTANT MIDWIFE REPORT INTO MATERNITY SERVICES, (IN THE FORMER) CWM TAF UNIVERSITY HEALTH BOARD

Board Members **RECEIVED** and **NOTED** an update on the above issue. M Longley stated that he was committed to the findings of the report being received and discussed in a public Board meeting as soon as possible following receipt of the final version.

UHB/B/19/173 There was no further business and the meeting was closed.

SIGNED:		 	
	Professor		
DATI	E		